Faculty of Medicine

Faculty of Medicine


The Faculty of Medicine was established in October 2001 with three departments; Anatomy, Medical Biochemistry and Physiology, two years after the University was given a certificate of registration as a private University in the Federal Republic of Nigeria. The Faculty was set up to train undergraduate medical students in pre-clinical, and prepare them for their future training in clinical medicine. The foundation Dean of the Faculty was late Doctor Mbanwusi M.C, a senior consultant of Surgery. The Faculty started with 17 medical students. In 2003 the Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences was created. The new Faculty took over the three Departments and the training of pre-clinical students. Also, in the same year the first Provost of the college of Medicine and Health Sciences was appointed in the person of Prof Ibeh C.I. After his tenure as the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, the pioneer Dean was succeeded by Dr. P.J.C. Nwosu in 2005. Prof A.E. Anya took over as Dean in June 2009 before handing over to the current Dean Professor C.T. John in June 2014 at the end of his tenure.

The Faculty since its inception, has witnessed steady increase in staff, facilities, student’s enrolment and graduate output. The faculty graduated its first batch of graduates in 2009. Staff of the Faculty have been very regular and consistent in their participation at national and international conferences. Governance of our Faculty adopts an integrated approach in which each member of staff is assigned to a duty as a coordinator or officer. Main duties in the several Departments making up the Faculty are carried out by these coordinators/officers. These officers in turn report to the respective Head of Departments who supervises their duties. Head of Departments in turn then update the Dean. Regular Faculty board meetings are held during which issues affecting or likely to affect the wellbeing of staff and students as well as the teaching of the courses and discharge of duties are raised, deliberated, debated and finally resolved in a cordial way that enhances the sustainability of our role as staff and relationship with students and the University administration.

Philosophy, Objectives of the Programme

The education and training of MBBS candidates in the Faculty is attuned to the basic health needs of the society. This commitment is reflected in a competency-directed and community-oriented approach with emphasis on social responsiveness and relevance, and life-long learning.

Deriving from the broad philosophy of the Faculty, the following objectives are pursued:

a. To provide students with a broad and balanced foundation of sound scientific, professional platform for the production of medical doctors who would be capable of working anywhere in Nigeria and be acceptable by the international community;

b. to provide such training as would equip these future health personnel to render care at Primary Health Care (PHC) level;

c. to develop in students the ability to apply knowledge and skills to solving theoretical and practical issues and satisfy internationally recognized standards, and undertake postgraduate training towards specialization within and outside the country; and

d. to train medical doctors with sufficient management ability to play a leadership role in health care delivery and develop a range of transferable skills that are of value in Medical practice.

Academic Staffs

Professor Jude Ehiabhi Okohue

Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist, Elele Campus.
More Detail

Faculty Contact Info

Faculty Of Medicine- Elele Campus

1 Madonna University Road
P.M.B 05 Elele,
Rivers State Nigeria,

08137180957, 08078130033

Mon – Fri 9:00A.M. – 5:00P.M.

Social Info

Student Resources